I woke up this morning thinking God bless the outcasts. Those who live outside the margins. Bless those who feel like they just don’t fit. Who are we to judge who fits. But by the grace of God go I.

These times are filled with judgement. I woke up yesterday thinking we should all be more kind to one another. Less hate, more love. Less rejection, more acceptance. I’m sure those thoughts are filled with symbols of flowers, peace signs, and protests for some, that was my first thought. But is that such a bad thing?

God Bless the Outcasts
Lyricist: Stephen Schwartz

I don’t know if You can hear me
Or if You’re even there
I don’t know if You would listen
To a humble prayer

Yes, I know I’m just an outcast
I shouldn’t speak to You
Still I see Your face and wonder
Were You once an outcast too?

God help the outcasts
Hungry from birth
Show them the mercy
They don’t find on earth

Please help my people
They look to You still
God help the outcasts
Or nobody will

I don’t know if there’s a reason
Why some are blessed and some are not.
Why the few you seem to favor
They fear us, flee us, try not to see us

God help the outcasts
The tattered and torn
Seeking the answer
To why they were born

Winds of misfortune
Have blown them about
You made the outcasts
Don’t cast them out

The poor and unlucky
The weak and the old
I thought we were all
The children of God.

I ask for nothing
I can get by
But I know so many
Less lucky than I

God help the outcasts
The poor and downtrod
I thought we all were
Children of God

Leave a Reply

